The 2017 Daffodil Breakfast

The Daffodil Breakfast is a springtime tradition since 2002 celebrating individuals and organizations whose dedication to their neighborhood and city exemplifies the Daffodil Project’s spirit of volunteerism and stewardship of New York City's parks and open spaces.  The Breakfast helps to fund NY4P's work through the Daffodil Project. 

Reserve your seat for the 2017 Breakfast! 

Click here to purchase tickets today

Wednesday, April 26
8:00-9:30 am
Bryant Park Grill

The 2017 Daffodil Breakfast Awards will be presented to:

Lynden B. Miller Citywide Daffodil Award
Rick Gordon, Franco Mucciacciaro and Ivan Lopez, NYC Parks Storehouse

Borough Daffodil Awards 
Bronx – Nilka Martell, Loving the Bronx, Bronx Coalition for Parks & Green Spaces
Brooklyn – Marlene Pantin, Red Hook Conservancy
Manhattan – George Reis, NYU Landscaping
Queens – Erycka de Jesus, The NYC Compost Project hosted by Big Reuse
Staten Island – Mary McInerney and Lee Regenbogen, The Hungerford School 

Parks Pioneer Award
Steve Chesler and Katherine Thompson, Friends of Bushwick Inlet Park

Learn more about the citywide Daffodil Project
 and our past 2016 honorees:

Left to Right: Missy Adams, Chelsea Garden Club; Odessa Brown, Boller Avenue Tree Lovers; Nelson Villarrubia, Trees New York; Petrona Smith, Boller Avenue Tree Lovers; Sam Bishop, Trees New York; Tupper Thomas, Executive Director, New Yorkers for Parks; Rodrigo Salazar, Jackson Heights Beautification Group; Evie McKenna,  Jackson Heights Beautification Group; Raphael Rodriguez,  Jackson Heights Beautification Group; Lynden B. Miller, Daffodil Project co-founder and NY4P board member; Sarah Wenk, Prospect Heights Street Tree Task Force; Bob Biegen, Prospect Heights Street Tree Task Force; Heather Butts, H.E.A.L.T.H. for Youths; Anthony Antonucci,  H.E.A.L.T.H. for Youths; Joel Steinhaus, NY4P board chair.

2016 Lynden B. Miller Citywide Daffodil Award Recipient

Trees New York
Trees New York was founded in 1976 as a volunteer response to New York City’s cutbacks in forestry and tree-related community services.  For 40 years Trees New York has worked to plant, preserve and protect New York City’s trees through education and community participation.  Through our signature program, the Citizen Pruner Course, Trees New York has trained over 11,500 volunteers to care for our urban forest.  They are extremely proud to be celebrating their 40th Anniversary this year. Trees New York has participated in the Daffodil Project since it began in 2001, planting thousands of bulbs in street tree pits throughout the city.


Petrona Smith, Boller Avenue Resident Tree Lovers
As an active member of her local Community Board’s Sanitation Committee, Ms. Smith became interested in caring for the tree pits on her block after realizing they were becoming magnets for litter and other refuse. In 2014, Ms. Smith learned about the Daffodil Project, and distributed the bulbs she received to her neighbors and local business owners as a way to encourage the community to become active stewards of the local street trees. Since then, her efforts have resulted in thousands of daffodils blooming along her residential block, as well as the business corridor nearby.


The Prospect Heights Street Tree Task Force (PHSTTF)
Started by a graduate of the Trees New York Citizen Pruner program, the PHSTTF became a local effort to improve the health and conditions of street trees throughout the Prospect Heights community. The planting of Daffodil Project bulbs has been a component of the Task Force’s service projects since it started in 2009, offering a way to both improve the soil health of tree pits, and beautify them each spring.  In recent years, PHSTTF has expanded their efforts further into Crown Heights, and also begun to offer educational workshops to neighbors about street tree care and stewardship.


The Chelsea Garden Club
When the city installed a protected bike lane along Eighth Avenue in 2010, multiple street trees were incorporated along the block. Realizing these tree pits needed stewardship and beautification, the Chelsea Garden Club was born. Community members have used Daffodil Project bulbs as a way to provide spring beautification, and their efforts also include the planting of pollinator-friendly plants and flowers that bloom in the warmer months. Their network of volunteers has expanded to adopt the bike lane pits along Eight and Ninth Avenues, from 17th to 30th Streets.


The Jackson Heights Beautification Group (JHBG)
In 1989, the Jackson Heights Beautification Group began as a community-led effort to beautify the neighborhood, and advocate for the parks and gardens of the neighborhood. Jackson Heights has one of the lowest ratios of open space per resident in the entire city, making the volunteer efforts of the JHBG vital to the improvement and increased accessibility of what little parkland there is to serve this incredibly diverse community. In addition to stewarding the main local open space, Travers Park, the JHBG saw the need to expand into street tree care. In neighborhoods as park-poor as Jackson Heights, street trees provide valuable green space, and their efforts have led to beautified, well-tended street trees throughout the community.


H.E.A.L.T.H. for Youths
H.E.A.L.T.H for Youths, Inc.
 is a nonprofit formed for the charitable and educational purposes of assisting youth in New York City. They strive to combat community deterioration and juvenile delinquency, improve the quality of education, health care and life-skills training offered to adolescence and young adults. While they work citywide, they have focused their primary efforts in the North Shore of Staten Island. After identifying a need to get young people in the neighborhood positively engaged with parks and open space, the organization partnered with Councilmember Debi Rose to do a long-term tree stewardship project in St. George, Staten Island that also involved planting daffodils in and around tree beds. Since 2013, they have planted thousands of daffodils with local teens and member of the local NYPD Precinct.